RA Spotlight: A Bromance

As the school year draws to a close, it is important to know where our soon-to-be alumni are headed after graduation. One senior in particular was eager to answer my strange, irrelevant questions regarding post-graduation.

Interviewer: So Nick, tell me a little bit about yourself? What would you like us to know about you?

Nick: My name is Nicholas William Stuart, I am a History Education major, and a Pisces. I think? Astrology is for hippies and commies.

Interviewer: That is a strange answer but I am glad you think astrology is for hippies and  communists. We can remove our questions regarding that thankfully. Okay, Second question: Do you know how to make coffee?

Nick: I put the K-cup in the Keurig and wait for the magic to happen.

Interviewer: Okay, close enough. You have a caveman understanding of coffee and how to brew it. Third question: What is your favorite coffee drink and where do you get it?

Nick: New Orleans iced coffee from Red Band or the Peanut Butter Pup from Coffee Hound. Both are great.

Interviewer: Do you know how to make New Orleans iced coffee or a Peanut Butter Pup?

Nick: Not a clue, but I could learn. Apparently the iced coffee is pretty easy to make, you just need extract and brown sugar I think.

Interviewer: Well if there is one takeaway from this interview, it’s that you would make a terrible, terrible barista. Now that we have narrowed your post-graduation job search, what do you want to do actually do after graduation?

Nick: I would realistically love to get a teaching job somewhere around the Midwest. I am looking at schools in Iowa, Nebraska, and Tennessee. I would love to be able to coach simultaneously as well. I would really love to coach football and even try to start a lacrosse program where I start out at.

Interviewer: You have quite the plan and it seems like you have it figured out for yourself. With that being said, what are your thoughts on graduation?

Nick: Nostalgia is a good word. I see my time at Ambrose, the good and the bad, as that bumpy part of the road that will aid me in a successful life after college. It is a scary time and I can feel the clock ticking seemingly faster and faster to graduation. I guess the thought I have is to continue to treasure the meaningful connections I have made here, appreciate the knowledge I have gained, and spread the ideals that Saint Ambrose University stands for in my classroom and in my life after college. I look forward to graduating but I also look back and will surely miss seeing the people and places I have come to love these past four years. Though I am not fond of goodbyes, I am fond of see you soons.  

Interviewer: Well put. I am glad that you have found a silver lining to graduation and cherish the memories and relationships that you have made at St. Ambrose. As your close friend, I can say that I’m glad to call you my best friend here. We may have become friends way late in the college game, but I’m very glad it happened. You are going to do fantastic in whatever job you have and I look forward to hearing all about it.

As Sarah Dessen once said, “Life is an awful, ugly place to not have a best friend.” Here’s to more see you soons, Nick! Love you, man.

-Jonah

jonah

By Jonah Niedermeier

jonah

Leave a Reply

